Antioch Interns Host Academy Freshman at Adopted Site!

Screen Shot 2016-04-21 at 2.37.38 PM

“On the 22nd of March and the 4th of April me and some of my fellow EarthTeam interns went to the Antioch San Dunes National Preserve and led our Environmental Academy Freshmen in helping the environment. On the first day I led the invasive species removal team with Bree. The second day we all helped planting host plants for the Lange’s Metalmark Butterfly. The freshmen had reacted well and took our direction pretty much the entire time. they were interested in what I was saying. It was fun for me to lead the field trips. I guess I just like telling people what to do”- Amani Taylor

“On March 22nd some of the interns from EarthTeam went to the Antioch Dunes to help out with invasive species. The freshmen seemed to enjoy the help of the EarthTeam interns and they were interested in what we do as an internship. I felt really proud of myself for going on the field trip because my leadership and speaking skills that I learned in EarthTeam were finally used for a good cause and over all it was a great experience”- Jasmin Zermeno 

“Mackenize, ZuZu, Victoria, Tatiana, Amani, and I went to the Antioch Dunes on April 5th. We went to the Antioch Dunes to help and educate the freshmen on the endangered species that live there and planting the naked stem buckwheat. Each of us were placed in a group with other freshman to lead them in planting, clearing invasives, and litter pick up. The Freshman were very nice to us and most seemed to be having fun. Leading the field trip was a bit nerve wracking at first but it got easier as the day passed.”- Cassie Lanphere

Posted in WAP